4 Minutes to Remember

On this date in 1954 Roger Bannister broke the 4 minute mile for the first time. What was once thought to be an unbreakable barrier was broken by 16 more people by 1957 and is now broken by high school milers all over the country. In 1997, Daniel Komen of Kenya ran two miles in less than eight minutes, doubling up on Bannister’s accomplishment!

Roger Bannister did not break the unbreakable barrier JUST by believing he could – he set his goal, made his plan and worked and worked and failed and failed before accomplishing the impossible and leaving his mark on history.

You might think why is this being sent to me? I am not a runner and I certainly was not alive in the 1950’s. Fair enough, but a better question to ask yourself is what 4 minute mile will I break in my professional or personal life? When you begin by asking that question great things may happen.

Feel free to pass this on to anyone who has unbreakable barriers they need to or would like to break themselves.

BTW – after breaking the unbreakable record, Bannister was more than “just” a history making, barrier breaking miler. After his track days were over he went on to become a distinguished neurologist and Master of Pembroke College, Oxford. He retired in 2001. Roger Bannister is yet another example of how success in one area of YOUR life – including sports – can in fact facilitate success in other areas of YOUR life as well! The tasks may be different, but the principal are the same. “The man who can drive himself further once the effort gets painful is the man who will win.” Roger Bannister

I hope you have a happy and productive 4 minute mile day! I am off to speak to students.

5 Responses to “4 Minutes to Remember”

  1. Scott Oxley Says:

    Great story of self determination. I believe that those who set realistic goals in life will experience a greater satisfation during their lifetime. It is always helpful and healthful to work towards getting better at what we do in life, or how we use our time!

    • speaktostudents Says:

      Thanks for your comment! I know that I need to get better at using my time in a productive way and start writing on a regular basis. I hope you are having a good spring waging the good war against senioritis and spring fever!

  2. LaRon Carter Says:

    Insightful question posed here. I needed to here your thoughts of how success in one area of my life can produce success in other areas of my life as well. Sometimes life has a way of helping me focus on the pain it takes to get there instead of realizing that my accomplished goals have the ability to transcend miles of barriers, right through the pain. Well done Champion!

    Carter | @laroncarter and @K12Live

    • speaktostudents Says:

      Thanks for your comment! I absolutely agree with you that the way life gets you (and me) to focus on the pain it takes to get there instead of the joy of accomplishment. I MOST DEFINETELY have barriers I need to break, including, but not limited to, regularly writing my blog. I have learned that I like speaking better than writing primarily because every time I say something in a presentation, I can decide if I want to change and rearrange it to say it better the next time, but writing seems so permanent. I figured the anniversary of breaking the unbreakable barrier would be a GREAT time to get over my fear/dislike of writing and start writing. I wrote the basic idea as an e mail for some folks at work and with a few tweaks it became the post you read. Then I sent it to some of my favorite teachers whose classes I speak in as well as to other friends and connections. As a result I’ve gotten some nice feedback and more people have read my blog today then my three other blogs put together. Action is rewarded!

      My plan is to make 2 or 3 posts per week as my one step to break one of my many barriers! I think the question you pose about how success in one area can produce success in another area will be a great topic for a later blog! Thanks again.

  3. LaRon Carter Says:

    Hearing about the success of promoting your blog is exciting. I would worry about the permanency of blogging. Just read, re-read and re-read again before posting. And then edit, if needed, after the publish. I noticed that my Facebook RSS Reader application edits my notes in pretty much realtime when its working.

    Keep the momentum going. And stick with that email campaign, it seems to be working for you. Looking forward to more great blog post from you.

Leave a Reply

